About CIQA

Centre for Internal Quality Assurance

Quest for Excellence

In pursuance of Action Plan for performance evaluation, assessment and accreditation and quality up-gradation of institutions of higher education, the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore proposed that every accredited institution should establish an Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) as a quality sustenance measure. Since quality enhancement is a continuous process, the IQAC will become a part of the institution’s system and work towards realisation of the goals of quality enhancement and sustenance. To fulfil the above mentioned objectives the university established the Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) on dated 19/04/2014.

In 2018, the nomenclature of Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) was changed as the Centre for Internal Quality Assurance (CIQA) in accordance with the then University Grants Commission (Open and Distance Learning) Regulations, 2017. The decision was taken in the Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) committee meeting held on dated 05-12-2018 vide matter no. 03 which was approved by the Board of Management in its 77th meeting vide matter no. 77.06 held on dated 05-12-2018.

The "Centre for Internal Quality Assurance (CIQA)" of Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University was established in accordance with the UGC (ODL) Regulations 2017 vide Notification No. BAOU/Reg./Admin/29941/2019 dated 16/10/2019. The reconstitution of CIQA Committee has been done in accordance with the UGC (ODL & OL Programmes) Regulations 2020 vide Notification No. BAOU/Reg./Admin/21022/2020 dated 29/12/2020. With the directive of National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) and University Grants Commission (UGC) through the ODL regulations 2017, the University established the CIQA with the primary focus to shoulder the responsibilities of generating and promoting awareness for quality assurance in academic and administrative areas and to work out the procedural details. The CIQA shall directly report to the Vice Chancellor, BAOU. The CIQA is the nodal agency entrusted with the responsibility of ensuring total quality management by ushering in innovations leading to achieving excellence and adoption of intervention strategies for monitoring their successful implementation.

Quick Links


Important Dates