The Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University (BAOU) was established by the Act No.14 of 1994 passed by the Gujarat State Legislature on 13th April, 1994, and assented to by the Governor of Gujarat on 27th July, 1994. The BAOU is the seventh Open University in the country in terms of their establishment. The University offers 80+ programmes with an enrolment of more than 8,00,000+ learners.

The headquarters of the university is located at Ahmedabad. The University has established 07 Regional Centres across Gujarat. The University has more than 270 study centers. It has jurisdiction over the whole state of Gujarat. It is open to all persons irrespective of classes, castes, creed, religion or sex.

The important and distinguishing objectives for BAOU are to:

  • Advance and disseminate learning and knowledge by a diversity of means, including use of any communication technology,
  • Provide opportunities for higher education to a large segment of the population,
  • Promote the educational well-being of the community generally, and * Encourage the Open University and distance education system in the education pattern of the Sate
  • Established
    13 April 1994
  • Head Quarters
  • Regional Centers
    Ahmedabad Regional Center
    Surat Regional Center
    Bhuj Regional Center
    Patan Regional Center
    Rajkot Regional Center
    Bhavnagar Regional Center
    Godhra Regional Center
  • Study Center
  • Programmes Offered
  • Learners Enrolled


Important Dates